The beginning of a new journey

I think I will be regular on this blog now.

I’m beginning a new journey.  In fact, it’s a journey that really had its genesis over nine months ago.  Let me explain…  I work for a Christian radio station–KJOL, Grand Junction, Colorado.  We are, by and large, financially supported by our listeners.  Well, donations were down badly in the last quarter of 2012 and there was a real possibility that I was going to be laid off.  Been there, done that, don’t want to go through it again.   When that possibility began to rear its ugly head, I began to look for work at other radio stations.  I also began to pray.  I began to pray that God would show me what He wanted me to do, where he wanted me to go.  I think He did and has.  My applications to other radio stations came to naught.  I was especially disappointed in the Christian stations in Tucson and Spokane to which I applied.  I’m convinced they weren’t completely honest with me.  No matter.  I heard from God.  Not audibly but I did hear from Him.  I decided that I would return to school to pursue an English degree to return to teaching or pursue a degree to become a clinical counselor.  My wife–what an awesome women–reminded me how much I hated teaching 25 years ago and how it’s probably not gotten better today.  So, I researched pursuing a degree in counseling.  Seems that, since I already possess a bachelor’s degree, I could go for a Master’s degree.  I checked out a number of school–also checked out the possibility of a degree in social work which didn’t seem too appealing–and decided to pursue a Master in Counseling degree from Adams State College–now Adams State University.  I would have rather matriculated at Colorado Christian University in Grand Junction but their program is not yet certified for the Grand Junction center and I can do the Adams program online so Adams it is.

By the way, It’s nice to be accepted to graduate school after being turned down by Northern Arizona University 23 years ago because of my lack of work experience.  So, nyeah, nyeah, NAU!!

I have my books and I have a computer.  I’m reading ahead so I can hit the ground running when online classes start on August 26.  I’m not sure how much of a life I’ll have once this really gets going.  Frankly, I’m finding that out now as I read ahead. (Forgot how much reading is required for a college class.) Not to mention still working full-time and refereeing soccer and basketball.

One other thing…  Gall bladder surgery on Thursday, August 29.  Gee, can’t wait….

Hopefully, this blog will become a record of all that I learn and experience in grad school. Hopefully, I’ll blog on a regular basis, if not daily.  I’ll talk about other things, too.  Maybe cribbage, maybe surgery, maybe friends getting married….  Who knows?  But the main thing, I hope, will be pursuing that Master’s in Counseling degree.  Those who pray, pray for me.  Hopefully, I can count on your support.

Blessings,

Randall Allen

About august589

I'm currently a radio announcer but I'm currently pursuing a Master's in Mental Health Counseling degree. In these blogs, I want to bring a Biblical perspective to mental health and psychological issues that I find as I peruse the internet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

