Don’t Worry About It!

Consider the following quote from the blog “Mental Health and Happiness:”

“Worrying is for some a full time occupation. Mark Twain said “I have spent most of my time worrying about things that never happened.” Any time you spend worrying means you are not spending time focused on positive potentials or the glory in the present moment.

Just for today, every time you catch yourself worrying, switch to a statement of faith.”

A statement of faith.  Fine.  But faith in what or whom?  You can’t simply have faith is whatever or in something that might happen.  Have faith in Jesus the Christ (Messiah). It was He who said that worrying is useless and pointless in Matthew 6:25-34:

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

The point is that we need not worry because God will provide exactly what we need, especially since we are more valuable than the wild animals for whom God provides every day. So, instead of worrying, rest in the knowledge that God will provide for you and your–and my–job is to seek Him and His righteousness and to follow Him and seek His face always.  He has my best interests in His mind and heart and my trust needs to be in Him and not in how I am to strive to gather up what I think I need.  I need to remind myself: don’t worry; God has it all in hand.

 

Peace to all,

Randall

About august589

I'm currently a radio announcer but I'm currently pursuing a Master's in Mental Health Counseling degree. In these blogs, I want to bring a Biblical perspective to mental health and psychological issues that I find as I peruse the internet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment